Open Menu Close Menu Open Search Close Search
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Megan Ballou

ballou-thailand-2014

Megan in Thailand, 2014

Education:

B.S., Biology with Environmental Science minor, Stonehill College, 2016
M.S. in Animals and Public Policy, Tufts University, 2017

What were you doing before entering the MAPP program?
I graduated from undergraduate school this past May. I spent my summer giving horseback riding lessons, working as a veterinary technician and enjoying beach days here and there!

What aspects of MAPP led to your decision to join the program?
When I stumbled upon the program during a random Google search, I thought it was to good to be true and knew that this was my next path in life about halfway through the Open House in January. I loved that the program served as a framework and that the structure was flexible and designed in a way that lets the student iron out the details. I loved that all of the students had common passions, but each student brought new ideas and goals to the table, for the group to all feed off. Most importantly, I immediately felt so at home with the MAPP faculty and was inspired by the support they provided for students. I was looking for a program where I could motivate myself, while experiencing new things. I wanted to be a part of a program that would let me find my way as I went, exploring new ideas and pushing my personal boundaries to integrate my goals and passion in a fresh and creative way. With this program I have found that.

Interests in and experience with animals
Animals have amazed me in countless ways my entire life. I grew up on a small horse farm, which was an environment that always encouraged any type of animal interaction. When I was five, I announced at my pre-school graduation that I wanted to be a veterinarian. Since then I have surrounded myself with animals on a regular basis. I am an avid equestrian and have experience working as a veterinary technician at several small animal clinics. During the summer of 2014 I traveled to Chaing Mai, Thailand with a veterinary service group to provide care for Elephants at Elephant Nature Park, as well as surgical care for stray cats and dogs.

What are your outside interests?
I love to hike with my dog, ride horses, read, and in general enjoy the outdoors!

Number of pets? What?
Olive, a three year old English Black Lab (frequently called Doodle!)
ballou-megan-and-oliveStella, a two year old Calico Kitty
Puffy, a 10 year old Maine Coon Cat
Thai, a three year old Maine Coon/Siamese Cat
Holly, a 19 year old Quarter Horse
Rumor, a 23 year old Quarter Horse
Peer, a 23 year old Norwegian Fjord

MS in Animals and Public Policy Student Externship and Research Poster Presentations 2017

Back to MAPP Alumni page